Yes, you must leave the hubs and bulbs powered on. However, you may set the bulbs to 0% brightness in the app if you don't want the lights to stay on. Do not turn the bulbs off via the wall switch.
The hub will usually update within 2-5 minutes; it may take longer since this is entirely dependent on your Internet speed.
The bulbs will usually update within 1-6 hours. However, in some cases, the bulbs may take up to 12 hours to update. If the bulbs have not been updated after 12 hours, please check to see if your internet connection is working properly. If your internet connection has no problems and your bulbs have still not updated, you can re-initiate the update attempt by turning the bulbs off and on again five times. The bulbs will blink twice to indicate that they have successfully re-initiated the update attempt.